ICO 2010

Home | Abstract Submission | Accommodation | Awards | Stockholm | Committees | Congress Information | Exhibition & Sponsorship
Pre & Post Congress Tours
| Registration | Satellite Meetings | Scientific Programme | Social Programme | Useful Links


Contact Us

Important Dates


IASO Awards for Scientific Excellence 2010

The International Association for the Study of Obesity Awards for Scientific Excellence will be presented during the 11th International Congress on Obesity in Stockholm. Details on how to apply for these awards will appear here in 2009.

The winner of each award will be invited to present his or her research in a Plenary Lecture at the Congress. They will also be provided with travel expenses (return economy airfare) to Stockholm and hotel accommodation (room and taxes) for the duration of the main ICO meeting (not including satellite meetings). The awardees will receive a commemorative plaque and a US$1000 stipend. In addition, courtesy of the ICO organising committee, each award winner will be provided with free congress registration and a banquet ticket.

There are four main awards:

The Willendorf Award – established in 1980, this Award recognises outstanding clinically orientated research related to obesity. There is no age limit and the winner will also receive a reproduction of the Willendorf statue. Previous winners of this award are: Yuji Matsuzawa (2006); Lars Sjoström (2002); Albert Stunkard (1998); Claude Bouchard (1994); Jean Vague (1990); Jules Hirsch (1986); Per Björntorp (1983); George A Bray (1980).


The Wertheimer Award – established in 1986 this Award is given for outstanding basic research contributions to the field of obesity. There is no age limit. Previous winners are: Kenji Kangawa (2006); Daniel Ricquier (2002); Jeffrey Friedman (1998); Gérard Ailhaud (1994); Bernard Jeanrenaud (1990); Benjamin Shapiro (1986).

The André Mayer Award – established in 1983 by for outstanding research in the field of obesity by an investigator under the age of 40. Previous winners are: Sadaf Farooqi (2006); David Allison (2002); Dominique Langin (1998); Arne Astrup (1994); Eric Ravussin (1990); Michael Lean (1986); Paul Trayhurn (1983).

Population Science & Public Health Award – established in 2006, this award recognises outstanding contribution to the field of epidemiology and public health issue relating to obesity. The inaugural award was awarded to Philip James in 2006.


New Investigator Award

The IASO New Investigator Award was established in 2002 to promote interest in obesity research amongst investigators who are still in training.  The Award is held every four years during the International Congress on Obesity where a separate session is devoted to oral presentations of the 5 papers judged to be the best among those submitted. This competition is simultaneous with the general abstract review for the ICO and requires no additional fee.  Five finalists will be invited to present their papers at a special session at the ICO and submit a brief manuscript for judging.  These finalists will have travel, accommodation and registration expenses covered to attend the ICO and the overall winner will receive a commemorative plaque and cash prize of $500. 

Please note that the New Investigator Awards will be offered subject to sufficient funds being available.



Photographer - Preben Kristensen (Stockholm Visitors Board)